Governance Committee

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee oversees the Board’s governance practices. Its objectives are to ensure good governance, accountability and transparency. 


Physicians interested in a position on the Governance Committee must:

  • Be a member of Doctors Nova Scotia
  • Possess general knowledge of or interest in governance
  • Be willing to commit to a two or three-year term 

In addition, the following are not required but would be an asset:

  • Experience on a governance committee or a board 
  • An Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) or comparable designation 

Time commitment

Serving on the Governance Committee requires:

  • Approximately five meetings per year (can participate by teleconference)
  • Review of meeting materials

Expression of interest

Doctors Nova Scotia members interested in serving on the Governance Committee can submit an Expression of Interest form.

Governance Committee Membership
Member Term Date elected/appointed Term ending
Jane Brooks, Committee Chair 2nd June 2018 June 2021
Tim Holland, President   June 2018 June 2019
André Bernard, Board Chair 1st September 2016 June 2019
Manoj Vohra, Past President   June 2018 June 2019
Kathy Gallagher (Board representative) 2nd June 2016 June 2019
Kelly Dakin Hache (Board representative) 1st June 2018 June 2021
Mike Gross 2nd June 2016 June 2019
Elwood MacMullin 1st June 2016 June 2019

Each member can serve a maximum of two consecutive three-year terms. If the incumbent wants to re-offer for a second term, the appointment must be recommended by the committee and approved by the Board of Directors.


Karen Chaisson
Executive assistant to the President and CEO
1-800-563-3427 ext. 4900