Family Doctors Council Election

Family Doctors Council Election

The Section of Family Doctors Council Council advocates for the business and interests of family doctors. An election is held annually to fill vacant seats on the council.


Nominations are being accepted for five vacancies on the Section of Family Doctors Council, formerly known as the Section of General Practice Representative Council and more recently as the Primary Care Physicians’ Representative Council. Nominations open at 11:59 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 14, and close at 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 8.

The electoral districts are based on county lines in Nova Scotia. There is one vacancy in each of the following areas:

  • Halifax County – metro
  • Inverness, Victoria, Cape Breton and Richmond counties
  • Antigonish/Guysborough counties
  • Digby/Yarmouth/Shelburne counties
  • Lunenburg/Queens counties


Voting runs from Tuesday, Oct. 19, to Tuesday, Nov. 10.

Voting eligibility

Members of the Section of Family Doctors may only nominate and vote for physicians from within their own geographic area. All positions are for two-year terms.

Honoraria and travel

Council members receive a $500 honorarium for each meeting and are reimbursed for travel expenses. Physicians have the option to connect to meetings via video-conference. The Council meets about four times a year, usually on Saturday mornings. 

About the Council

The Section of Family Doctors Council advocates for the business and interests of primary care physicians. The council's work involves developing strategies for dealing with key issues that affect the role, responsibilities, and capabilities of primary care physicians.

Influencing change

The council acts as a sounding board for health transformation, often hearing about new initiatives in the earliest stages of their development. The Department of Health and Wellness, the Nova Scotia Health Authority, the Policy and Health Issues Committee and other health-care partners often solicit feedback from this group on behalf of family physicians across the province.


Sonia Abi Ajab
Executive assistant to the President and CEO; team lead, admin support
1-800-563-3427 ext. 4900

Next steps