CMA special awards

CMA special awards

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) presents 11 awards annually to recognize the many physician contributions across the country

  • Medal of Honour

  • Medal of Service

  • F.N.G. Starr Award

  • May Cohen Award for Women Mentors

  • Sir Charles Tupper Award for Political Action

  • CMA Medical Student and Resident Award for Political Action

  • Award for Excellence in Health Promotion

  • Award for Young Leaders

  • Dr. William Marsden Award in Medical Ethics

  • Physician Misericordia Award

  • CMA John McCrae Memorial Medal

CMA nominations

The CMA deadline for nominations is Nov. 30. The CMA’s Committee on Archives and Awards meets in January to review nominations and make recommendations to the Board of Directors. The recipients will be notified in March and the award will be presented at the CMA Annual Meeting.

Visit the CMA website for award criteria and nomination forms