Achievement awards

Group of doctors at a conference

Achievement awards

Nova Scotia is home to many innovative and talented physicians. The association’s annual achievement awards are one way that Doctors Nova Scotia (DNS) celebrates the dedication of its members, physicians who go beyond the call of duty, but are rarely acknowledged for their hard work.

Doctors Nova Scotia members are invited to nominate their colleagues for these annual awards. The nominee should be someone who has demonstrated great dedication to the profession and has made an important contribution to health care in Nova Scotia.

The six award categories are: Distinguished Service, Rural Physician of the Year, Dr. William Grigor Award, Physician Health Promotion, Doctors Nova Scotia Senior Membership and CMA Honorary Membership. 

For details about the awards selection process, check out the award committee’s terms of reference

2018 winners

Doctors Nova Scotia honoured nine doctors for their contributions to the medical profession at the 2018 awards ceremony, held at the DNS Annual Conference in June. For a complete list of all physicians honoured in past years, check out this list of achievement award winners.

2019 nominations

Nominations for the 2019 Achievement Awards will open in July 2018.


Melissa Murray
Communications coordinator
1-800-563-3427 ext. 4923