Board Election

Board Election

Voting runs from Thursday, March 12 to Monday, April 6.

Election candidates

Election candidates

The slate of candidates for the 2020 Doctors Nova Scotia Board of Directors is as follows:

Specialist - Inside HRM: View candidate profiles

  • Dr. James Clarke
  • Dr. Shelly McNeil

Dr. Mike MacDonald was elected by acclamation to the Family Physician inside HRM seat.

Length of terms

All seats are for three-year terms. If elected, board members may serve two consecutive three-year terms.

Voting period

Voting in the Board of Directors election runs from March 12 to April 6. Electronic ballots will be distributed to members directly via email. Mail ballots will only be provided to those who do not have an email on account.

Election results

Results of the Board of Directors election will be made available by April 11.

Board role

The Board of Directors is responsible for developing and executing the strategic direction, approving governing policy and overseeing the management of Doctors Nova Scotia.

Board meetings

There are six meetings per year, held on Friday afternoons.


Board members are entitled to reimbursement for travel expenses and honoraria as outlined in the association’s Honoraria and Expense Policy.


Sonia Abi Ajab
Executive assistant to the President and CEO; team lead, admin support
1-800-563-3427 ext. 4900