Agenda Item# 8.1



Annual General Meeting - Motion Approval of President-Elect

Mover: Dr. Robyn MacQuarrie, Chair, Nominating Committee

Seconder: Dr. Gary Ernest

Rationale:

The Nominating Committee is responsible for reviewing the nominations for President-elect and recommending a candidate for the Board's endorsement and for approval at the Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Any member who meets the criteria can be nominated for President-elect. The Nominating Committee reviews the nominations and recommends a preferred candidate to the Board of Directors for endorsement, and that person's name is brought to the AGM for approval.

This year the Nominating Committee is recommending **Dr. Heather Johnson.** The Committee has determined that Dr. Johnson meets the selection criteria.

Dr. Johnson, a family physician practicing in Bridgewater, has been actively engaged in the association for the past ten years. She was appointed as a regional representative to the Board for two years (2010-2012) and has been elected to the Board for two consecutive terms (2012-2015 and 2015-2018). She was a member of the IT Steering Committee during her first elected term on the Board, and Chair of the Audit Committee for three years during her second term. She represented DNS on the NewMD Committee (2016-2018) and was a member of the Master Agreement Advisory Group and the Master Agreement Negotiations Team for the 2018-19 negotiations. Dr. Johnson currently sits on the DNS Governance Committee.

The Nominating Committee agreed that Dr. Johnson is a strong physician leader who has extensive knowledge of the governance of the association. The Nominating Committee has no hesitation recommending her for the position.

The Board of Directors passed a motion at its April 3, 2020 meeting to endorse the committee's nomination of Dr. Johnson. If approved, she will formally step into the role following the AGM until June 2021 when she will take over as President.

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Doctors Nova Scotia Annual General Meeting approves Dr. Heather Johnson as President-elect for 2020-2021.