

Annual General Meeting 2020 Award winners

Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Stephen Couban, FRCPC

Dr. Stephen Couban is being honoured posthumously with the Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Couban's career highlights encompassed his many roles at Dalhousie University, including professor in the Department of Medicine, division head of the Hematology Department, director of the Blood and Marrow Transplant Program, and medical director of the medical teaching unit in the Department of Medicine.

Dr. William Grigor Award: Dr. Janneke Gradstein, CCFP(EM) FCFP

Dr. Janneke Gradstein is being recognized with the Dr. William Grigor Award for her efforts to enhance the health and well-being of Nova Scotians. In practice for 14 years, Dr. Gradstein became the Cumberland Regional Health Care physician site lead in 2018—one of many ways in which she has applied her knowledge to maximize resources and meet health care demands.

Rural Physician of the Year Award: Dr. Kelly Morris, CCFP

Dr. Kelly Morris is being honoured with the Rural Physician of the Year award for providing exemplary care to her patients and for her outreach to underserved populations. For 10 years, Dr. Morris has served the community of Amherst, N.S. as a family physician and through the Cumberland Regional Health Care Centre, where she works in prenatal care, obstetrics, neonatal resuscitation, surgical assists and in-patient medical care.

Physician Health Promotion Award: Dr. Lisa Barrett, FRCPC, PhD

Clinician scientist Dr. Lisa Barrett is being recognized with the Physician Health Promotion Award for her research on chronic viral infection and immune function, and how infection can be treated and cured. Dr. Barrett conducts her research in part as the principal investigator with the Senescence Aging Infection and Immunity laboratory at Dalhousie University, which she also established.

Senior Membership Award: Dr. Rebecca Dobson, FRCPC

Dr. Rebecca "Becky" Dobson receives the Senior Membership Award in recognition for her contributions in cardiac radiology. Over the course of her career, Dr. Dobson was a devoted teacher and mentor to hundreds of medical learners and colleagues. She not only taught radiology and cardiac residents, but also physicians in many other specialties, including internal medicine and emergency medicine.

CMA Honorary Membership Awards

Dr. Minoli Amit, FRCP(C), CCPE

Pediatrician Dr. Minoli Amit receives the CMA Honorary Award for her dedication and excellence in the delivery of health care in rural Nova Scotia. Based in Antigonish, N.S., Dr. Amit is a consulting pediatrician and chair of the Department of Children's and Women's Health at St. Martha's Regional Hospital. Over the years, Dr. Amit has ensured that the rural perspective for specialist medical services has been represented locally and nationally.

Dr. Sally Helme Jorgensen, FRCSC

Dr. Sally Helme Jorgensen is being honoured with the CMA Honorary Membership Award in recognition of her contributions in obstetrics and gynecology. Practising for 35 years, she has spent over three decades providing exemplary care to women on Nova Scotia's South Shore. Over her career, Dr. Jorgensen has held leadership positions in both regional and national organizations.

Dr. Paul van Boxel, MBChB, FRCS(C)

Dr. Paul van Boxel is the recipient of the CMA Honorary Award for exemplifying the CMA's ideals of integrity and compassion. Dr. van Boxel has established a legacy of excellence during his 56 years in medicine. In 2002, he joined the Cumberland Regional Health Care and helped build a culture where surgeons assist and support one another, inside and outside the operating room.