## Section of Family Doctors 2020 Section of Family Doctors Council FACT SHEET



The Section of Family Doctors Council advocates for the interests of family physicians. The council's work involves developing strategies for key issues that affect the role, responsibilities and capacities of primary care physicians.

The council acts as a sounding board for health transformation, often hearing about new initiatives in the earliest stages of their development. The Department of Health and Wellness, the Nova Scotia Health Authority, the Policy and Health Issues Committee and other health-care partners often solicit feedback from this group on behalf of family physicians across the province.

The council includes members from various counties across the province. Members of the Section of Family Doctors are eligible to nominate their colleagues for a position on the council; members may only nominate physicians from their own county and may only vote within their own county.

**Council members** are eligible to serve a maximum of two consecutive two-year terms. The council has 21 members, including the following positions.

• Chair – two-year term

•

- Chair-elect nominated by council (one-year term)
- Past-chair (two-year term)
- 12 county representatives, elected by the members of each county
  - > Three representatives from Halifax County (two metro and one rural\*)
  - > Two representatives from Cape Breton (Inverness/Victoria/Cape Breton and Richmond counties)
  - > One representative from each of the other seven counties
  - Up to two primary care physicians serving on the Doctors Nova Scotia Board of Directors
- One resident elected from within Maritime Resident Doctors
- One medical student elected from within the Dalhousie Medical Student Society
- Two "flex positions," as identified by consensus of the Council

The **Council Executive** includes the Chair, Chair-elect and Past-chair, as well as the treasurer and secretary, who are elected from within the council membership.

This year there will be vacancies in each of the following counties:

- Halifax County metro
- Inverness, Victoria, Cape Breton and Richmond counties
- Antigonish/Guysborough counties
- Digby/Yarmouth/Shelburne counties
- Lunenburg/Queens counties

The council meets quarterly, usually on Saturday mornings. Council members receive a \$500 honorarium for each meeting and are reimbursed for travel expenses. Physicians also have the option of attending by teleconference.

\*Metro: Halifax/Dartmouth/Sackville/Bedford Rural: HRM outside Halifax/Dartmouth/Sackville/Bedford

For more information about the nomination or election process, please contact: Sonia Abi Ajab 902-481-4900 or 1-800-563-3427, ext. 4900 <u>sonia.abiajab@doctorsns.com</u>