Primary Care Physicians' Representative Council

Primary Care Physicians' Representative Council

About the Council

The Primary Care Physicians' Representative Council advocates for the business and interests of primary care physicians. The council's work involves developing strategies for dealing with key issues affecting the role, responsibilities, and capabilities of primary care physicians.

In fall 2017, the Primary Care Physicians' Representative Council welcomed four new members, Drs. Cook, MacDonald, Marshall and Quackenbush, and two returning members, Drs. Gorman and Sauveur.

Influencing change

The Council has provided feedback on new scopes of practice for pharmacists, including the Bloom Project, and on the new Workers’ Compensation Board contract, the Physician Resource Plan, the new medical staff bylaws, the collaborative care framework and medical assistance in dying.

Election results

The election for two seats on the Primary Care Physicians' Representative Council closed on Thursday, Nov. 9, 2017.

Halifax County Metro


Candidate Votes Percentage
Dr. Leisha Hawker, Halifax 23 21
Dr. Lois MacGibbon, Dartmouth 25 23
Dr.  Cindy Marshall, Lower Sackville 59 55
Total votes 107

Halifax County Rural


Candidate Votes Percentage
Dr. Alana Cormier, Musquodoboit Harbour 23 21
Dr. Katherine Quackenbush, Upper Tantallon 25 23
Total votes 107


Nominations closed on Oct. 10, 2017. The following members won a seat by acclamation.

  • Dr. Mary Gorman – Guysborough and Antigonish Counties
  • Dr. Michael MacDonald – Cape Breton County
  • Dr. Colette Sauveur - Cumberland County (incumbent will take a second term since no nominations were received)
  • Dr. Chris Cook - Colchester and Hants Counties


The following seat is still vacant:

  • Pictou County


Voting ran from Oct. 16 to Nov. 9 at 11:59 p.m.

Voting eligibility

Members of the Section of General Practice may only nominate physicians from their own county, and may only vote within their own county. All positions are two-year terms.

Honoraria and travel

Council members receive a $500 honorarium for each meeting and are reimbursed for travel expenses. Physicians have the option to connect to meetings via video-conference. The Council meets about four times a year, usually on Saturday mornings.